2018 Shyne Awards - Tickets
  • Banner About

News & Events

  • The 10th Annual Shyne Awards to be held on Sunday, June 3 at 5pm. Click here to view the Flyer!
  • SHYNE stands for Showing How Youth Need to Excel
  • We are accepting nominations for the 10th annual shyne awards! Nominate a young person (13-19) today!

Past Nominees & Honorees


Chelsea Marie Lewis (Academics); Seairra Barrett (Community Service); Nicole Gadsden (Service in Ministry); Jesse & Joziah Council (Entrepreneurship); LoRen Knight (The Arts); Sahara Duncan (Leadership); Jasmyne Gray (Overcoming Obstacles); SLAAM Basketball (Young Adult Group); and Charles Scales III (Science).


2013 Shyne Awards Essay Honoree!

CONGRATULATIONS TO MARCE NIXON WASHINGTON! Marce won a laptop, an interview on WAMO100 radio station and will be recognized at The 7th Annual Shyne Awards for writing an essay. Marce participated in our essay contest and effectively communicated what kind of Pittsburgh she would want to live and what she would be willing to do to help Pittsburgh become what she envisions. The essay contest would like to thank The Pittsburgh Promise, WAMO100 and Indiana University of Pennsylvania for their support!


Congratulations to the 2012 Shyne Awards Honorees:

Destiny Hall (Academics), Deja T. Hopkins (Renaissance), Felecia McFarlane (Service in Ministry), Stephanie Jimenez (Arts), Taylor Jones (Community Service), Kimberly Lewis(Overcoming Obstacles), Amber Liggett(Entrepreneurship), Joshua Manley-Lee(Overcoming Obstacles), Bria Marie Petite(Entrepreneurship).

The Movement Award – The New Pittsburgh Courier

Grand Prize Winner: Stephanie Jimenez won $500 and will perform at The 6th Annual Shyne Awards on August 25, 2012

Felecia McFarlene (Dance): Won an opportunity to perform at The 6th Annual Shyne Awards and will be dancing to a piece by the Grand Prize Winner Stephanie Jimenez

Nicole Hill (Dance): Won a dance scholarship to the Greer Reed Summer Intensive Dance Program

Teireik Williams (Theatre): Won an opportunity to perform with the August Wilson Center Theatre Ensemble next season

Jasmine Gray (Vocal): Is The Shyne Awards “Spotlight” Winner and will perform at The 6th Annual Shyne Awards!


Shyne Award Winners – 2010

Chelsey Lowe, Academics

Jazmine Bailey, Arts

Rachel Tobin, Community Service

Angel Treats, Entrepreneurship

Moriah Brock, Service in Ministry

Braddock Youth Group, Young Adult Group

Khadijha Berry, Overcoming Obstacles

Jesus Anoints Me (J.A.M.) – The Movement Award

Tim Stevens, Gwendolyn J. Elliott Lifetime Achievement Award


Shyne Award Winners – 2009

NAKA Entertainment, Arts Category

Denise Jones, Academic Category

Larry Halisham, Community Service

DeVaughn Robinson Jr., Bernard H. Jones Entrepreneurship Award

Neyuama Porter-Bair, Overcoming Obstacles Recipient

Bakari Thompson, Science Category

Team Excellence, Service in Ministry Category

Mel Blount, Gwendolyn J. Elliott Lifetime Achievement Award

Homewood Brushton Community Ministries – The Movement Award


3rd Shyne Awards – 2009

The 3rd Annual Shyne Awards was hosted by Actor Malik Yoba (“Cool Runnings”, “New York Undercover”, “Why Did I Get Married?” and featured Actor/Singer Ryan Patrick Parker as our Red Carpet Correspondent. The event was held at the elegant Byham Theatre, Downtown. The young adults were treated as the stars that they are by being transported to The 3rd Annual Shyne Awards in limousines! The night included local performances by some of Pittsburgh’s talented young adults, including Shyne winners from previous years, and each award was presented by last year’s Shyne Award winner. It was a night that will always be remembered!


2009 SHYNE AWARD Top Nominees

Academics: Denise Jones, Ivory Bennett, Talia Kirkland

Arts: Jazmine Bailey, NAKA Entertainment, Paul Keys, Carter Redwood

Community Service: Bakari Thompson, Cyndnei Mallory, Larry Hailsham, Thomas Wory

Entrepreneurship: Larry Hailsham, Westinghouse High School Culinary Program, DeVaughn Robinson Jr.

Science: Bakari Thompson, Larry Hailsham

Service in Ministry: Steven Edmonds, Trevaun L. Hairston, Team Excellence, Sarah Joy Gilmer

Overcoming Obstacles: Neyuama Porter-Bair

The Movement Award: Homewood-Brushton Community Ministries

Gwendolyn J. Elliott Lifetime Achievement Awards:

Richard Carrington, Executive Director, Voices Against Violence, 2007

Rashaad Byrdson, Executive Director, Community Empowerment Association, 2008

Melvin C. Blount, Executive Director, Mel Blount Home for Boys


2nd SHYNE AWARDS – 2008

The Shyne Awards was held at the Kelly Strayhorn Theatre and featured a pre-ceremony reception where the nominees, their families, sponsors and supporters enjoyed delicious food, received gift bags provided by sponsors, heard remarks by SHYNE Founders and had their pictures taken by a professional photographer. During the event, attendees enjoyed a Grammy-style event complete with professional lighting and digital technology! Each award was presented by last year’s Shyne winner. The audience also enjoyed local entertainment and family and friends cheered and supported the achievements of the Top Nominees and the Shyne Award Winners. The 2008 SHYNE Awards received close to 100 nominations – twenty students were selected as the event’s Top Nominees!


2008 SHYNE AWARD Top Nominees

Academics: Janel A. Young, Dion White, Bakari Thompson and Justin Payne

Community Service: Keturah Vactor, Malik Johnson and Amanda A. Parks

Service in Ministry: Charmaine Clarke, Rodriquez Tate, Erica Lynne Witherspoon and Keturah Vactor

Arts: DaMarra Chanel Underwood, Jourdan Martin, James Porter Traylor and NAKA Entertainment

Entrepreneurship: James Porter Traylor, Activ8 Youth Ministry, Mt. Ararat Youth Café and DaMarra Chanel Underwood


1st SHYNE AWARDS – 2007

The SHYNE Awards was held on the Gateway Clipper’s Liberty Belle and featured a buffet dinner, selected by the SHYNE Awards Youth Committee, KDKA-TV Morning Anchor John Cater was the event’s Keynote Speaker, National Recording Artists “Crave” was on hand to sign autographs and take pictures, local young adults provided entertainment and family and friends cheered and supported the achievements of the Top Nominees and the SHYNE Award Winners. The 2007 SHYNE Awards received 100 nominations. Fifteen students were selected as the event’s Top Nominees!


2007 SHYNE AWARD Top Nominees

Academics: Jamiyla Diamond Miller, Amanda Parks and Justin Payne

Community Service: Robert Travis, Michael Turner and Keturah Vactor

Service in Ministry: Terrell Jackson, RJ Tate and Erica Witherspoon

Arts: Jourdan Martin, Kontara J. Morphis and Raymont Youngblood

Entrepreneurship: Daniel Miller Jr. and Mt. Ararat Baptist Church Youth Cafe